• Seemann's Finest Quality Meat
  • Jaegermeister bottle breaking through ice
  • Air France


The South African school year is normally broken down into four terms although some private schools have three terms. Private schools have different holiday times to public schools. A few private schools set their own holidays but most schools will follow the calendars below.

The Deutsche Schule Johannesburg has four terms and follows a slightly different calender to the other private schools. The school also has some additional public holidays. Please visit this link to download school and public holiday dates for the Deutsche Schule Johannesburg.

Private school terms for 2017  download here
Four term schools
Terms Start Close
One Wednesday 18 January Friday 31 March
Two Wednesday 19 April Friday 23 June
Three Tuesday 18 July Friday 29 September
Four Tuesday 17 October Thursday 7 December

Three term schools
Terms Start Close
One Wednesday 18 January Wednesday 12 April
Two Wednesday 3 May Friday 4 August
Three Tuesday 5 September Thursday 7 December

Public school terms for 2017
All public schools have four terms. All public schools in South Africa have the same school calendar.
Terms Start Close
One Wednesday 11 January Friday 31 March
Two Tuesday 18 April Friday 30 June
Three Monday 24 July Friday 29 September
Four Monday 9 October Wednesday 6 December

Public and school holidays 2017
Date Holiday
1 January New Year's Day
2 January Public holiday
21 March Human Rights Day
14 April Good Friday
17 April Family Day
27 April Freedom Day
1 May Workers Day
2 May Public holiday
16 June Youth Day
17 June School holiday
8 August School holiday
9 August Women's Day
24 September Heritage Day
16 December Day of Reconciliation
25 December Christmas Day
26 December Day of Goodwill

  • Lufthansa South Africa
  • Chateau Gateaux logo
  • Deukom Television
  • Afrika-Verein der deutschen Wirtschaft